In the Winds


How long, How wide, How deep
September 15, 2009, 4:23 pm
Filed under: Lyrics

This is a short song I have been working on this week.  I’ve been thinking alot about the reality of God.  Knowing the attributes of God is good for doctrine and good for preaching to yourself in the mirror.  Doctrine is essential in leading to a clearer perception of reality, but it isn’t the reality itself.  God is not an idea.  He is a living being.  The Holy Being and The Ultimate Reality.  I have been praying that his attributes become real to me. We all have a hunger to know and be known by our Creator.  By extraordinary grace, love, and awesomeness, God wants us too!  In fact,he didn’t just love us back he loved us first.  (1 John 4:10)  If I could only grasp the complete reality and utter immensity of his love, grace, and sovereignty…how would I act?  How would I speak?  How would I trust?

I was a prodigal son in the famine and fire

I left the feast for the mud and the mire


I wanted the world, you wanted me

You broke into my soul so I could see

How long, how wide, how deep is your love in my life (2x)


I have stumbled on doubt with tears of need

You know my heart, help me believe


That the season of pain is a seed to sew.

I’m not there yet, but maybe one day I’ll know

How long, how wide, how deep is your love in my life (2x)


You came to me, you loved me first

You were the water of my thirst

A treasure in a jar of clay

With trembling I can proclaim

How long, how wide, how deep is your love in my life (2x)


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

